Devo - Pioneers Who Got Scalped (2000)
Length 154:37
Format CD
Genre General Rock
Index 110
Collection Status In Collection
Track List
Pioneers Who Got Scalped:Disc 1 77:14
1 We're All DEVO 1:03
2 Jocko Homo 3:18
3 Mongoloid 3:34
4 Be Stiff 2:34
5 Uncontrollable Urge 3:10
6 (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction 2:40
7 Too Much Paranoias 1:58
8 Come Back Jonee 3:48
9 Triumph Of The Will 2:16
10 Smart Patrol/Mr. DNA 6:05
11 Secret Agent Man 3:34
12 The Day My Baby Gave Me A Surprize 2:41
13 Soo-Bawlz 2:21
14 It Takes A Worried Man 3:28
15 Girl U Want 2:56
16 Freedom Of Choice 3:28
17 Gates Of Steel 3:28
18 Whip It 2:40
19 Snowball (single remix) 2:28
20 Mr. B's Ballroom 2:47
21 Working In The Coal Mine 2:50
22 Love Without Anger 2:36
23 Through Being Cool 3:13
24 Jerkin' Back 'n' Forth 3:04
25 Beautiful World 3:34
26 Nu-Tra Speaks (new traditionalist man) 1:40
Pioneers Who Got Scalped:Disc 2 77:23
1 General Boy Visits Apocalypse Now 1:45
2 Peek-A-Boo! 3:02
3 That's Good 3:26
4 Big Mess 2:45
5 One Dumb Thing 2:45
6 Theme From Doctor Detroit (dance mix) 6:03
7 Shout 3:17
8 Here To Go (go mix version) 5:31
9 Are You Experienced? 3:09
10 I Wouldn't Do That To You 3:14
11 Bread And Butter 2:31
12 Let's Talk 2:42
13 Itsy Bitsy Teenie Weenie Yellow Polka-Dot Bikini 2:10
14 Baby Doll (devo single mix) 3:29
15 Disco Dancer (7 inch version) 4:13
16 Some Things Never Change 4:11
17 It Doesn't Matter To Me (live, 1988) 2:15
18 Stuck In A Loop 3:50
19 Post Post-Modern Man 2:52
20 Head Like A Hole 4:52
21 Thanks To You 3:19
22 Communication Break-Up 2:43
23 Duty Now For The Future! 0:30
24 The Words Get Stuck In My Throat 2:49
Rating 70
Live No
Spars ADD
Rare No
Sound Stereo
Released May 9, 2000

AMG EXPERT REVIEW: Heading into the new millennium, there was no truly
definitive Devo compilation on the market, so Rhino attempted to remedy
the situation with the double-disc Pioneers Who Got Scalped: The Anthology
-- and did a pretty good job, without quite pulling it off. When faced
with a choice, the compilation takes the collector-oriented route by including
the rarer version; as a result, buyers get the original Booji Boy-label
recordings of "Jocko Homo" and "Mongoloid"; the single remixes of "Snowball,"
"Baby Doll," and "Disco Dancer"; and the extended dance remixes of "Here
to Go" and "Theme From Doctor Detroit." As an added bonus for fans, the
beginning and end of each disc features brief sound clips from the group's
legendary short films. More problematic, though, is the anthology's attempt
to present a balanced overview of all phases of Devo's career. While admirable
in intent, the fact is that the group's oeuvre grew steadily weaker as
time passed, and since disc one runs all the way through their first (and
best) four albums, disc two is a pretty bumpy ride. Not that it's worthless
-- collectors and devoted fans will be thrilled with the inclusion of quite
a few songs that had only previously appeared on various movie soundtracks,
and it also rescues some worthwhile (if not quite transcendent) singles
from obscurity, like the aforementioned "Disco Dancer" and "Post Post-Modern
Man." But as a listening experience, it pales next to the first disc in
terms of songwriting, musical invention, and edgy humor; plus, where the
band's early covers reinvented rock standards as comments on alienation
and dehumanization, latter-day items like "Bread and Butter" and "Itsy
Bitsy Teenie Weenie Yellow Polka Dot Bikini" are strictly novelties and
nothing more. So the bottom line is, you've got to be a hardcore Devo enthusiast
to fully appreciate Pioneers Who Got Scalped. If you are, it's a fantastic